5 Books To Read This Quarter

It’s the second half of the year which also means we are in the third quarter(Q3). Going through the year with my goals and plans sectioned into quarters has helped me not get overwhelmed and anxious about not achieving my goals. If you haven’t written down your goal/plan for this quarter, you should. It will help you stay on track with your plans for the year as a whole.

Did you include “build a reading habit” or “read xyz number of books” in your goals/plans for the year? How have you done so far?

This is a reminder that it’s not too late to hit your reading goal for the year(or any goal in general), just be intentional this time.

Here are some of the books I’d recommend that you read this quarter –

1. So good they can’t ignore you

Compelling careers often have complex origins that reject the simple idea that all you have to do is follow your passion.

Cal Newport

I highly recommend this book especially if you’re confused about what career you want to get into or what you’re passionate about. This book talks about how passion is a side effect of mastery and how you might never find what you’re passionate about if you just sit around waiting to discover your passion and don’t do something. It also touches on building a career capital and craftsman mindset which I love. I love how the author supports his theory with in-depth information and stories of people.

2. & 3. The inheritance games

This is one of the book series I enjoyed reading and I can’t wait for the third book’s release in August. If you love mystery you should read this book. It has a great plot and you’ll keep having questions after questions. Some things about the book didn’t sit well with me but I would be lying if I said it wasn’t a good read.

About – Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. – Goodreads

4. The Defining Decade

Random thought: The thing about self-help books is that not necessarily all the parts of a book might resonate with you but make sure you note whatever it is you learn and not judge based off things you don’t agree with.

For most people, there’s a lot of anxiety and lack of clarity that comes with being in their 20s, to be honest, most of us just don’t want to mess things up. It’s okay to “live life” but these years are more like the foundations we lay for the other years to come in terms of career, relationships, finances and so much more. This book is a reminder the 20s are not dress rehearsals, they are real lives and they should be lived as such. I like how research and interviews are included in this book which is quite similar to the first book I mentioned.

5. The Richest Man In Babylon

The teaching in my church in the month of June was about money and our pastor adviced that we read a book about so I decided to pick up this book that has been in TBR for a long time. They are a lot of gems in this book and it really made sense to read this book after listening to all those teachings.

I love how it is written and the fact that it’s not written in the way other self-help books usually are. The lesson are things you might have probably heard before but this book will open your eyes to see how important they are. It provides simple and actionable steps to building wealth and living a life of quality like paying yourself first, investing, making good use of opportunities and so on.

Let me know which of them you’ve read or will be reading next⬇️

I created a Dropbox folder of some of my e-books and I’ll be updating it from time to time. You can check out the books I recommended Here

You can also share with me some of the books you think I should read in the comments section⬇️⬇️

Cheers to smashing our reading goals one book at a time 📖🥂

Was this post helpful? Like, comment and share💜

Have an amazing week!

4 thoughts on “5 Books To Read This Quarter

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑